AMERICAN GALLERY

Greatest American Painters

Leslie Emery (1912 – 1998)

Posted by M.R.N. on January 21, 2010


Mexican Family

This Is My Love

This Is My Love

Green Eyes

Mexican Worker With Burro

The Phoenix

The Quiet Pool

The Red Door

The Red Door

Prodigal Goes Forth

Prodigal Goes Forth

Return Of The Prodigal

Return Of The Prodigal

Mr. Golfer Clown

Mr. Golfer Clown

A Case Of Mistaken Identity

A Case Of Mistaken Identity

Golfer Clown

Golfer Clown

Clown Pouring A Beer

Clown Pouring A Beer

Pobrecita

Pobrecita

Mother And Child

Mother And Child

 

15 Responses to “Leslie Emery (1912 – 1998)”

  1. Paul said

    I have a print by Lislie Emery ( This is my Love ) its been in the family for years.
    It is in a oak frame that looks as old as the Print litho plate? not sure about that just its its really nice. it is sign…
    Leslie Emery 50

    I’m moving and would like to sell.
    pkdavis321@aol.com

  2. Larry said

    Are you still looking for a “This is my Love” print? We have a 19″ X 24″ print of this numbered 571 if you are.

  3. dave said

    I think i have the original painting… some one who just recently passed gave my neighbor this painting….it was painted on old canvas it is not a print..it has received damage.. ot sure if it can be repaired not sure email is munrod50@yahoo.com

  4. John Birkett said

    I have a set (8 off) of framed Leslie Emery ‘Golf Clown’ prints. Can somebody tell me if there is any $ value that can be attached to them? please respond to jb@iinet.net.au

  5. Jackie Jones said

    I would love to have “This Is My Love”. I bought one at an auction in Ohio some years ago. I had a house fire on September 19th, and lost it, amongst everything else. Does anyone still have it?

  6. Maggie said

    I really enjoy the simple details in “MexicanFamily”, amazing. Captivating.

  7. Karen Metcalf said

    how can I find information about “The Phoenix” when was it painted, why can’t I find anything about it on-line?

    • Suzay Lamb said

      At the outbreak of World War II, Leslie Emery joined the Air Force, serving in North Africa and Southern Italy, where he studied the character of people and sketched dark eyed children. Like the one portrayed in “The Phoenix”. That poor (possibly Italian) little girl seated amidst the ruins of her house represents the hope for the future, like a Phoenix arising from the ashes.

      • Karen Metcalf said

        Thanks You very much for the info. I have this print, which is very old and I can’t find another one anywhere. Do you know of any reason it would be so scarce?

  8. Kristi said

    I have a copy of This Is my Love. Can anyone tell me what it might be worth? It is signed and dated 50. Its in a wood frame with a brass name plate on it. Thanks.

  9. I have The Big Moment #15 in a frame. Has slight damage, ex; a scratch not very noticeable, and color change is darker. If interested please email with price.

  10. S.A. Matuszak said

    “Perplexed” (artist: Leslie Emery) is the actual name/title of the print–or Reofect reproduction painting–listed here as “Mr. Golfer Clown.”

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.