AMERICAN GALLERY

Greatest American Painters

Ivan Olinsky (1878 – 1962)

Posted by M.R.N. on January 29, 2010


Adoration

Narcissa Vanderlip, Age 11

Soirée In Time

Red-Headed Woman

Tosca In Red

Tosca In Blue

Girl Reclining On Pillow

Nude

Nude

A Woman Reading

Cowrie Necklace

title unknown

Portrait Of Elsie Mershon Wickes

Mother With Her Children

The Mirror

Portrait Of A Girl With A Red Bow

Young Woman In Yellow

Farmer Roscoe

10 Responses to “Ivan Olinsky (1878 – 1962)”

  1. I can tell you that several of the paintings on this site listed as by Ivan Olinsky are NOT by Ivan Olinsky and I would be glad to point them out if there is any interest. I am one of Olinsky’s grandsons and own (with my brother) a number of his paintings.

    • Suzay Lamb said

      Yes I’m interested and ready to correct the wrong attributions. Thanks.

    • Howard Lewis said

      Dear Mr. Miller:

      We have a painting done by your grandfather, Ivan Olinsky, of my wife’s great uncle, Norman Cooley. For years the painting hung in the Hart and Cooley Manufacturing offices in New Britain, Connecticut.

      When Hart and Cooley was taken over a number of years ago, the company sent the painting to my father-in-law and eventually it was passed down to us. On the back of the painting is a slip of paper giving its provenance; e.g., when it was done (1949), for how much ($1,200) and so on. While some might dismiss this as “corporate art”, one look at the painting shows that it is much more that. It gives a real feeling for what type of person my wife’s great uncle must have been.

      While the painting may be an interesting piece of art, neither my wife nor I ever met Uncle Norm. So, we have puzzled for years over what to do with it. Do you have any suggestions? Is there a market for this type of commissioned work? Is there a museum that specializes in your grandfather’s work that might be interested?

      Any ideas would be appreciated.

      Sincerely,

      Howard Lewis

      • Dear Mr. Lewis, You might check with Jeff Anderson at the Florence Griswold Museum in Old Lyme and also the director of the Great Britain Museum of American Art to see if they have any interest. I’m guessing there isn’t much of a market for straight portraits, particularly of men. I could be wrong. John M

    • Rita Mathsen said

      Mr. Miller, I have a HUGE painting which was donated to our former church in the Bronx which is said to have been painted by your grandfather. It is of St. thomas putting his fingers in the side of Jesus. It is absolutely beautiful, I must say. Unfortunately, the church is being closed by the synod and the congregation is panicked and don’t know what to do with the painting. They have given it to my husband (the former pastor) and I. It has a small tear on it (which has always been there) which I think occured during transportation during the1960s when it was moved into the church. Would you care to look at it and give us your opinion as to its authenticity? I do not have a photograph at the moment but would be glad to put one up on the website if you would instruct me as to how to do this. The painting is very ;arge and we do not have room for it and need to sell it. Thank you for your time!

      Sincerely,
      Rita Mathsen

  2. Lisa Johnson said

    Dear Mr. Miller,

    My mother, Edith Johnson, worked for you grandmother and grandfather as a housekeeper. During her time with him he did a charcoal sketch of her which we own. But he also did an oil of her that we do not. I have been looking for this piece for a very long time and would love to be able to purchase it. I can send you a photo of the charcoal sketch if you are willing to help. We think that in the oil she may be wearing a blue bandana on her head, but are not sure. My email ljohns53@comcast.net

  3. Dear Lisa, do send me a photo of he charcoal sketch and I’ll do some checking. JM

    • Lisa Johnson said

      So sorry, just found your reply today. I have the picture of the charcoal sketch, but it will not let me paste it into this site. Is there another way I can get it to you? My email address is ljohns53@comcast.net

    • Lisa Johnson said

      Dear Mr. Miller,

      It just occurred to me that you probably receive these replies directly to your email account and that therefore you may not receive the entire thread of the inquiry. My original message to you is detailed in the second paragraph. I then just saw that you replied that I could send a picture of the charcoal sketch to you and you would see if you could help. I have the picture of the sketch, but this inquiry all started on the americangallery.wordpress.com site and they will not allow me to post a picture in this response. If there is some other way to email or mail the picture to you, I would really appreciate it. We would love to find out if there is any way to ever purchase the painting as an heirloom for the family. again, my email is ljohns53@comcast.net. If you are willing to email me directly, I can then attach the picture to a response.

      My mother, Edith Johnson, worked for you grandmother and grandfather as a housekeeper. During her time with him he did a charcoal sketch of her which we own. But he also did an oil of her that we do not. I have been looking for this piece for a very long time and would love to be able to purchase it. I can send you a photo of the charcoal sketch if you are willing to help. We think that in the oil she may be wearing a blue bandana on her head, but are not sure. My email ljohns53@comcast.net

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.