AMERICAN GALLERY

Greatest American Painters

Jon deMartin (1955)

Posted by M.R.N. on July 9, 2012


Simple Pleasures

Sheila

Venice

Sleep

Faith in the Wilderness

Jacqueline

Julie With Gold Band

Gilda’s Birthday

Sheryl

The Spike Puller

Andrea

Gilda With Hat

Gilda, Victoria And Barbie

Bound

Golden Rails

Magic Hour

Bridgeport

Sunset

Self Portrait

Self Portrait

© Jon deMartin

official website

 

3 Responses to “Jon deMartin (1955)”

  1. Bruce said

    This fellow reminds me of Edward Hopper and it’s not just the obvious reminiscence invoked by the diner scene in “Simple Pleasures.” It’s also the people, clad and unclad, positioned in front of open windows (“Venice,” “Faith in the Wilderness,” “Jacqueline,” “Andrea”) and the portrayal of an ordinary, workaday world (“The Spike Puller,” “Golden Rails,” “Magic Hour,” “Bridgeport”).

    By the way (and not to detract at all from this artist; several of Mr. deMartin’s pictures are now in my permanent virtual collection*), I encourage the blogger to consider expanding her Edward Hopper section : https://americangallery.wordpress.com/category/hopper-edward/ There is so much more Hopper out there! Readers who doubt this should Google Images for “Edward Hopper paintings.”

    * Alas, one of which is not “Venice” although I love this painting. Absolutely beautiful in more ways than one! However, I keep my picture collection “G” rated (or “PG” at worst) because of: 1) Posterity, in case I suddenly kick the bucket and my kids go through the collection on my laptop to see what Dad was up to, and 2) Propriety, because I use my picture collection as my slideshow screen saver at work. (Boss: “Say, Bruce, where is that report I asked you for . . . Holy Smokes, who’s that? And why is your screen saver on anyway?”)

    Anyway, well done, Mr. deMartin.

    • Suzay Lamb said

      I started republishing the insufficient and partial posts of this blog’s first period (October 2007 – February 2009), with a wider choice and better resolution of the paintings. It will take some time but, considering that “suddenly kick the bucket” is not in my plans, I will. Hopper’s section will be properly expanded, like the ones of all other painters treated in that period.

      p.s.: deMartin’s “Venice” is fantastically beautiful. Your kids will understand its presence in your collection. However, about your boss, I wouldn’t put my hand on fire. What a dilemma!

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.