AMERICAN GALLERY

Greatest American Painters

Samuel Stillman Osgood (1808 – 1885)

Posted by M.R.N. on October 13, 2010


Edgar Allan Poe

John Sutter

Davy Crockett

Davy Crockett

Anna Quincy Thaxter Parsons

Miss Stebbins Of New York

Louis Manigault

Frances Osgood

Venus Stealing Cupid’s Last Arrow

Child Playing With A Watch

4 Responses to “Samuel Stillman Osgood (1808 – 1885)”

  1. Ton Fafianie said

    Dear Suzay,

    You don’t know me, but I’m a historian from the Netherlands, interested in American history and art.
    I like your Gallery website. I noticed you have several paintings listed made by Samuel Stillman Osgood (1808-85), who is a very underrated artist.
    Now I wonder: where did you get the information from about one of his paintings, titled ‘Venus Stealing Cupid’s Last Arrow’? I know it was auctioned by Christie’s East back in 1992, but they didn’t identify Sam as the painter. You obviously did, and I take my hat off.

    Just curious, but I’d be much obliged if you could give me an answer.

    Thank you,

    Ton Fafianie.

  2. Ton Fafianie said

    Christie’s identified the painter wrongly as Samuel S. Good. So, who made the connection with Samuel Stillman Osgood? There are lots of riddles surrounding the painting. Can anyone enlighten me or fill in the colors?

    Thank you,

    Ton Fafianie.

  3. Jeanne said

    Do you have any more information on Child Playing with a Watch?

    Thank you,
    Jeanne

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.