AMERICAN GALLERY

Greatest American Painters

Ernest Tonk (1889 – 1968)

Posted by M.R.N. on September 19, 2009


Glendive GetawayGlendive Getaway

Late Summer RangeLate Summer Range

Out Of The Western NightOut Of The Western Night

At The WaterholeAt The Waterhole

Trail BossTrail Boss

The LookoutThe Lookout

untitledtitle unknown

Fording The WenatcheeFording The Wenatchee

ReflectionsReflections

Western MoonlightWestern Moonlight

unknowntitle unknown

35 Responses to “Ernest Tonk (1889 – 1968)”

  1. J David Oder said

    I own most of the Ernest Tonk paintings on your site.
    1,2,4,7,8,9

    I am intersted in the others or any others you might come across

    I am Ernest Tonk’s grandson and I am intersted in collecting his art for my Grandchildren.

    • Robert Welsh said

      I own the Ernest Tonk origional, untitled, 21×28,
      subject; Cowboy cutting herford steer w/herd & red sw type mountains in background.

      Can e-mail image upon request

    • Mr. Oder,

      I tried this reply once before but haven’t recieved anything from you.

      My grandparents knew Ernest Tonk and I was able to go to his studio once in Glendale, CA. and preview his special painting of the Sepulcher of Jesus.
      I just wondered if you knew anything about that painting or if it is still around?

      Sincerely,

      R.L. Ardron

    • Teri said

      Hi David. I’m sorry that I have no artwork that I’m getting rid of, but I’m hoping that maybe you can help me with something. Ernest Tonk was my great (or great, great) uncle. My mother was a Stoltenberg and he was her Uncle. I have three of his paintings and would like to have them appraised for insurance purposes, but have no idea who to go to. I was hoping that perhaps you knew someone, who is well versed in his art. Lol, I’ve competed with you a few times on e-bay, but you always win! Teri Johnson

    • Eileen Farrer said

      I just logged on to this site. I have one of Ernest Tonk’s paintings titled “Roundup Time”. It is of a cowboy cutting out a cow and her calf who look like they were trying to escape. The background is a big herd and 1 rider amid on the left and 2 riders on the right working the here. Mountains in the background.
      If you are interested, please contact me. efarrer@shaw.ca

  2. Dave Flynn said

    I have an Ernest Tonk painting that was given to my father It is not a western but boats in a small “harbor” Are you interested?

  3. Diane M said

    I have a nice litho with his name signed on it , bought it years ago if interested email with a real name please!!

  4. shawn said

    we have two watercolors of Indian portraits dated 1916, if interested.

  5. Karen Johnson said

    Mr. Oder:

    We own a 24 X 36 Oil on board by Ernest Tonk, entitled “Tight Spot”. My Grandparents purchased it from the Grand Central Art Galleries in new York years ago. The painting is called “Tight Spot” and the original Bin Number is D8587. I comes with the original wooden frame. Email if you are interested

  6. Carole Lung said

    Please… Is anyone interested regarding my comment of August 7, 2010? Carole Lung
    E-mail carolelung@comcast.net

  7. Ronald Stutting said

    I have a Ernest Tonk water color dated 1948 cowboys roping cattle. How would I get it appraised? And is Dave Oder or anybody else interested in buying it? My e-mail adress is coyboyron52@yahoo.com

  8. Ron Werner said

    I own several Ernest Tonk Paintings that I am looking to sell.
    I can provide more info if there is any interest.
    Any idea on the best way to sell these?
    Thank You,
    Ron Werner

    • Dave Oder said

      Ron, I am very interested in any Ernest Tonk paintings you have, please contact me by email with photographs, and size information. By the way are you related to Sandy Warner?

    • Dave Oder said

      I meant Sandy Werner

      • Ron Werner said

        Dave,
        I would be her Son.
        Just the two of us left on this side of the family.
        She is donating her 2 paintings to the Museum in Cashmere. I will get some pictures and info to you soon.

    • That being the case, your mom is a cousin of mine, through her grandfather Carl Tonk? The brother of Ernest Tonk? Your grandmother was Marybell Craig? That being the case we met when you were very young. Say high to your Mom. And if you do have any Tonk paintings I will be happy to buy them from you for my collection.

      Thanks

      Dave

      • Ron Werner said

        Dave,
        Did you get the pictures and sizes I e-mailed over?
        Ron

      • Dave Oder said

        Ron,

        Please try again. dave@shift4.com, it might have gotten caught erroneously in our spam filter.

        Please post your email address and I will contact you directly.

        Dave

      • Ron Werner said

        David,
        I have e-mailed pictures and descriptions several times now with no response.I have decided to persure other selling options.I am guessing you are not interested.
        Ron

      • Dave Oder said

        Ron

        It might be that our corporate email system is blocking your address. You are sending to: dave@shift4.com, right? Could you please let me know what your email address is. If you don’t want to post it to this web site call my assistant, ask for Jeanette at (702) 597-2480. Tell her your email address and I will search for the your information or I will send you an email and you can do a reply to mine. It may be being blocked when you attach large JPGs etc.

  9. Fred Stanley said

    I have a print of a painting signed Adam Styka that is almost exactly the same painting as “At the Waterhole” by Ernest Tonk on your website. It seems likely one must have copied the other.

  10. Wayne Woods said

    I Have a orignal by E Tonk Casein “Boats in Marina” 21×29 framed I might be interested in selling.

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.