AMERICAN GALLERY

Greatest American Painters

Vincent Desiderio (1955)

Posted by A. S. Amberson on July 16, 2013


Without Words

Without Words

title unknown

title unknown

Sumo

Sumo

Sink

Sink

Mourning And Fecundity

Mourning And Fecundity

Mourning And Fecundity II

Mourning And Fecundity II

title unknown

title unknown

The Boating Party

The Boating Party

title unknown

title unknown

title unknown

title unknown

Lily In A Round Chair

Lily In A Round Chair

Sleep

Sleep

Sleep (detail)

Sleep (detail)

Soaking

Soaking

Nous I

Nous I

Nous II

Nous II

I Liberati

I Liberati

Un'Istoria

Un’Istoria

Pantocrator (triptych)

Pantocrator (triptych)

Cockaigne

Cockaigne

Hanging Man

Hanging Man

title unknown

title unknown

title unknown

title unknown

Laughing Woman

Laughing Woman

© Vincent Desiderio

 

3 Responses to “Vincent Desiderio (1955)”

  1. Robert E. McKee III said

    I think Vincent’s art is sickening.

  2. Star said

    Some of it was interesting, thought provoking and some of it was sickening.

    For the nudity? I am no prude. No issues with nudity, but I have zero idea what the artist was trying to convey in some of those images.

    I, personally, could have done without the image of the 3 strung up dead pigs. Revolting.

    What message came from that or was meant to be taken from it is beyond me.

    If you told me the artist was against animal cruelty/consumption, the image might make more sense and thus once can realize it’s reason for being created.

    As an animal lover/vegetarian/vegan, it was a disconcerting reminder of the constant suffering and death of our fellow creatures.

    • Bruce said

      I too would hope that the messages that you suggested were what was intended. Unfortunately, there is a school of thought that maintains, when you say “What message came from that or was meant to be taken from it is beyond me,” that question and comment are themselves the purpose of art whether you get it or not. Whether there is something specific to get or not. I think that’s what at play here. Looking at the rest of this person’s work, I would say the odds are against his being concerned about the source of bacon and pork chops.

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
