AMERICAN GALLERY

Greatest American Painters

Eliza Pratt Greatorex (1819 – 1897)

Posted by A. S. Amberson on June 20, 2013


Landscape Near Cranbrook

Landscape Near Cranbrook

Along The Shore In Autumn

Along The Shore In Autumn

title unknown

title unknown

Gorse On Sand Dunes

Gorse On Sand Dunes

Rock Springs

Rock Springs

 

 

4 Responses to “Eliza Pratt Greatorex (1819 – 1897)”

  1. Ray Lynott said

    Dear Suzay, Congratulations on your achievement, and thanks. I am most interested in the work of Eliza Pratt Greatorex (included by you in American Gallery from June 2013) and would be glad to know of any of her pieces which are on sale anywhere ( specifically one that you show – ‘ Gorse on Sand Dunes’). She was born in Manorhamilton, Co. Leitrim, Ireland, which happens to be my own home town, and hence some of my interest. But I also admire her talent and her spirit. Any information you have, or which comes your way, would be welcomed by me. Meantime, may the Great Spirit enhance your undoubted spirit…………. Ray Lynott.

    • Suzay Lamb said

      “Gorse on Sand Dunes” was auctioned by Gorringes (Lewes, UK) in September 2011.

      • Ray Lynott said

        Dear Suzay, Thanks for replying. I found that the ‘Gorse’ painting was unsold at that auction in 2011, so I have been trying to trace the person who was selling it then, but without success so far. I will keep hoping. I have her etching ‘ The pond at Chernay-la-Ville and love it. What a woman she was! Like you. Best wishes …..RL. PS No need to reply.

  2. Haley said

    Hello,
    I was just wondering if you could tell me where these works were sold at auction. In the previous comment you mention that “Gorse on Sand Dunes” was auctioned by Gorrignes.. but I was wondering if you knew where the others went to auction? Any answers would be very much appreciated!!!

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
