AMERICAN GALLERY

Greatest American Painters

Alexander Brook (1898 – 1980)

Posted by L. A. on March 3, 2013


Young Pianist

Young Pianist

Amalia

Amalia

Summer Wind

Summer Wind

Portrait Of A Little Girl

Portrait Of A Little Girl

Portrait Of Reginald Marsh

Portrait Of Reginald Marsh

Future Author

Future Author

Morning

Morning

Mrs. Emily Wilson

Mrs. Emily Wilson

Portrait Of Lily

Portrait Of Lily

The Georgia Cracker

The Georgia Cracker

title unknown

title unknown

Minor Tragedy

Minor Tragedy

Peggy Bacon And Metaphysic

Peggy Bacon And Metaphysic

Katharine Hepburn

Katharine Hepburn

Merle Oberon

Merle Oberon

Bette Davis

Bette Davis

Yvette

Yvette

The Young Couple, Monsieur et Madame Bourdelle

The Young Couple, Monsieur et Madame Bourdelle

The Guest Room

The Guest Room

Bacchante

Bacchante

Black And White

Black And White

How Shall I Tell My Daughter

How Shall I Tell My Daughter

How Shall I Tell My Daughter

How Shall I Tell My Daughter

How Shall I Tell My Daughter

How Shall I Tell My Daughter

How Shall I Tell My Daughter

How Shall I Tell My Daughter

How Shall I Tell My Daughter

How Shall I Tell My Daughter

How Shall I Tell My Daughter

How Shall I Tell My Daughter

How Shall I Tell My Daughter

How Shall I Tell My Daughter

How Shall I Tell My Daughter

How Shall I Tell My Daughter

How Shall I Tell My Daughter

How Shall I Tell My Daughter

Jane Bouché

Jane Bouché

 

6 Responses to “Alexander Brook (1898 – 1980)”

  1. Bruce said

    I hope he finally found a way to tell his daughter whatever she needed to know. I also hope he delegated the last task!

    Regarding his portraiture, I did not recognize any of his famous subjects at first glance. Even after reading the title, scrolling back up, and saying “Oh yeah. I guess” it was tough.

    This fellow would not be very high up on my list of American Masters. His work looks bizarre and even amateurish to me.

    Which leads me to make one more comment. Sometimes (in my opinion) we mistake a lack of talent for a distinctive artistic style. Could I draw as well as him? Certainly not. However, I bet thousands of art students in this nation could.

    Why is it we shower accolades on artists without artistic greatness in the modern era? Yeah, yeah, eye of the beholder, I know.

  2. Stu Mead said

    I disagree, I think his work is terrific. I never heard of or saw his work before. thanks for finding it.

  3. Hello! I just purchsed, I believe, is this original Katharine Hepburn oil painting pictured above by Berniece Little. I was told it was purchased at an estate sale, and was one of 3, the others also listed above, Merle Oberon and Miss Bette Davis.Does anyone know the history of these pictures and the artist Berniece Little? Am unsure whether she did the other two, but I am very pleased to have aquired the one of KATE..Thanks very kindly!
    Sincerely ,
    Tally Haugen

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
