AMERICAN GALLERY

Greatest American Painters

Ercole Cartotto (1889 – 1946)

Posted by A. S. Amberson on July 6, 2011


Calvin Coolidge

Mrs. Kemmerer And Marion

Mrs. Kemmerer And Marion

Mrs. Beatrice Schoellkopf Penn

Mrs. Jefferson Penn

Mrs. Jefferson Penn

The Kirby Family In A Garden

John Garibaldi Sargent

Harlan Fiske Stone

Marion 'Minnie' Campbell Adamson

Marion ‘Minnie’ Campbell Adamson

The Honorable Henry P. Field

The Honorable Henry P. Field

Arthur Watson

Arthur Watson

Miss Marion Ryder

Miss Marion Ryder

Thomas Cushing Esty

Thomas Cushing Esty

Robert Frost

4 Responses to “Ercole Cartotto (1889 – 1946)”

  1. The portrait drawing of Robert Frost is so well done!

  2. Gail said

    Love to see the collection of paintings from my great, great uncle Ercole Cartotto! I am in search of 3 faces from drawings I was given which I have done in pastels. They may be his early works of art he left with his brother and passed down to my grandmother, his niece.

    • I am the owner of a Cartotto of a young boy sitting with a book in his lap. that I think is done in ‘silver point’ (?) It is very beautiful and has been in my family for many years. It was passed to me from my grandparents. The style reminds me of the drawing of Robert Frost. The boys face is almost angelic and we used to call him the ‘boy Jesus’. I’d love to know more about the work and his great great grandchild. I know Mr. Cartotto is famous for his painting of Calvin Coolidge and others. You can contact me directly if you want. My name is Chris Wirth and I live in Milwaukee WI. email: chriswirth@wi.rr.com. Thanks!

      • Richard Samson said

        My daughter Gail had been in touch with you in regards to my great uncle,Ercole Cartotto..He was my mother’s father’s brother. I do have a signed painting of a child in our home in Westborough,Mass.. If you know of any of his signed artwork that is for sale,please let me know….Richard and Ann Samson 2 Hancock Way Westborough,Ma 01581……..508-616-0006

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
