AMERICAN GALLERY

Greatest American Painters

Fred Grayson Sayre (1879 – 1939)

Posted by A. S. Amberson on April 11, 2010


 

Monument Valley

Monument Valley

Covered Wagons

Wasteland

Blooming Verbena

Blooming Verbena

Desert Scene

Verbena Clad Dunes

Southwestern Landscape

San Onofre Beach

Overriding Characters, The Sierra Madre Valley, California

Overriding Characters, The Sierra Madre Valley, California

Into The Canyon

Into The Canyon

Smoke Trees At The Salton Sea

Smoke Trees At The Salton Sea

Salton Sea

Salton Sea

Southwestern Mountain Landscape

Southwestern Mountain Landscape

Morning Light, Santa Paula, California

Morning Light, Santa Paula, California

California Mountains

California Mountains

Verbena Fields

Verbena Fields

Mountain Landscape

Mountain Landscape

Desert Glory

Desert Glory

The Opal Range

The Opal Range

Mountain Scene

Mountain Scene

Cows In A Foothill Landscape

Cows In A Foothill Landscape

Mountains In A Valley View

Mountains In A Valley View

Autumn Mountain Landscape

Autumn Mountain Landscape

Desert Scene With Distant Mountains

Desert Scene With Distant Mountains

Landscape With Mountains And A Figure On Horseback

Landscape With Mountains And A Figure On Horseback

Indian Figure With Basket In A Landscape

Indian Figure With Basket In A Landscape

 

14 Responses to “Fred Grayson Sayre (1879 – 1939)”

  1. Ila Mayse said

    I found what i think is a fred sayre painting but it has a (GP 1816) stamped on the bottom is this a copy?

  2. Verna Bryant said

    I have a Fred Sayre painting. It is small and it is on board and the covered wagons are raised as to appear closer. I do not know the value. Thank you.

  3. Blanch A Lefker said

    I have a F Grayson Sayre picture it isapprox 16high and 18 wide. I hace had it since the 1970’s. It has been on a shelf in a closet.

  4. clayton said

    I have the monument valley picture my mom has had it since 1965 just wondering what the value of this would be ?

  5. sandra said

    I have this painting was my husbands great aunts it is signed no numbers

  6. Bob Coffey said

    I have a 28″x21″ print on cardboard with embossed paint brush strokes. It is the Covered Wagon print of Sayers, and i would like to know the year that the original was painted, and approx. value of my print (good condition),

    • Suzay Lamb said

      “Covered Wagons” was painted in 1937.

      • Bob Coffey said

        Thank you! Do you know if this cardboard/brush stroke print is rare or how many were made? I saw this print in a 1943 black and white western movie that I have called “The Desperados” staring Randolph Scott and Glen Ford. it is early in the movie in the bankers office over his desk. Mine has some yellowing to it (age on the cardboard) but is still great.

  7. triva camp said

    I believe I have an original Covered Wagons painting in the original frame that is signed by F Grayson Sayre. I have not been able to find the value of this painting. Does anyone have an idea of the value?

  8. jerry said

    The Covered Wagon has been in my family since in the early forties and I don’t know how long before that. Mine is a print #GP 2343 . One time I was told it was worth about $250 t0 500 but because my mother left it out in the shed and got damp it would cost almost that much to clean. I’ve always really liked this print. Mine is also signed. The # of the print is down in the lower left corner.

  9. Bobbie Coleman said

    I have a F Grayson Sayre wagon train print , it belonged to my stepfather’s mother. I am 72 years old , I don’t know how old the picture could be ,it is in an old gold colored frame.

  10. Mark Baumgart said

    Well, it’s official, I’m awestruck by these paintings. Just saying.

  11. Owen Jones said

    This is a great site and service you are giving here.
    I have a full-size print of Monument Valley that my parents were given as a wedding present back in the 1930’s. It was on display in their house up until about 1990, but became very faded. It was not until I took it out of the frame about 2005 that I could see the artists name and the edge of the painting that was still in bright colors. That started my researching and among other places has led me here. What a pleasure to be able to see the image in the original colors and learn of the artists history.
    The print was made by Hardie Bros Ltd., but there is no date or address, so I know nothing about them. It must have been exported to New Zealand some time in the 1930’s.

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
