AMERICAN GALLERY

Greatest American Painters

Howard Connolly (1903 – 1990)

Posted by M.R.N. on October 13, 2009


Girl With Roses

Girl With Roses

Sailing (A Sight To Sea)Sailing – A Sight To Sea

Eloise Saunders

Eloise Saunders

AutumnAutumn

At The Beach

At The Beach

Girl On Beach

Girl On Beach

Water Sports - Water Skiing

Water Sports – Water Skiing

Nude Study Of Marilyn Monroe

Nude Study Of Marilyn Monroe

Marilyn Monroe

Marilyn Monroe

Marilyn Monroe

Marilyn Monroe

Jane Russell

Jane Russell

Rita Hayworth

Rita Hayworth

title unknown

title unknown

Yellow Tulips

Yellow Tulips

Jutht My Thize!

Jutht My Thize!

title unknown

title unknown

Nefertiti

Nefertiti

Siesta

Siesta

The Surfer

The Surfer

The PosseThe Posse

Hunting Scene With DogsHunting Scene With Dogs

Hunting Scene

Hunting Scene

Ducks Landing

Ducks Landing

Melting Snow - Winter Forest

Melting Snow – Winter Forest

Autumn Glow

Autumn Glow

Woman Riding Horse In Autumnal LandscapeWoman Riding Horse In Autumnal Landscape

Howard%20Connolly%201title unknown

Silhouette In Blue

Silhouette In Blue

Damsel In Distress

Damsel In Distress

 

15 Responses to “Howard Connolly (1903 – 1990)”

  1. Mitchell said

    Does anyone have an idea of the value of a Howard Connolly Seascape in oil, lg.size?

    • David said

      I also would like to know more about the value of Howard’s paintings. I have spent 2 weeks every summer in Westerly on the beach with my family since the late 60s. I knew Howard while he still had his studio in Watch Hill RI and visited him many times at his home. I commissioned Howard to paint the Watch Hill lighthouse in a winter storm. Of course the painting is wonderful and is displayed were I can see it all the time.
      The painting is about 3’x2′ done in 1981.

      I would enjoy hearing about any information you have.
      BMServices@verizon.net

      • Michelle Brussel said

        I’m wondering the same thing as I have the same painting. Let me know if you find out.
        Thanks,
        Micehlle

  2. Bill Maher said

    Also looking to check value of Mr. Connally’s work.

  3. L. Mitchell said

    I met Howard while he was getting ready to move from Westerly to Providence and I helped arrange the auction of his goods. I bought a beautiful seascape he painted while on a vacation in Mexico. It is large and an oil. Every time I look at it I see something else I missed. Another tree on shore, a different incoming wave. It is interesting. I know what I paid but not the current value. I have been told by a dealer that only Howard’s Girl pictures are worth much.

  4. Orrin Campbell said

    I have a Connolly painting of 3 ships @ sea.

    Could anyone tell me about it?, and if it is worth
    anything.

    • Lisa Briggs said

      Howard was my great uncle. My dad has many wonderful paintings that he did. Orrin could give me a better description of the ships? I know that he did a series at the time of WWII of liberty ships. To my limited knowledge these are sought after by maritime collectors. Your painting how ever I would need more details to identify.

      • lesley said

        hi, i have a painting my parents have past down to me that my parents treasured. poster girl on beach with umbrella…looks potentially like maryln also…what would value be and is anyone interested in buying it, as I am moving and trying to downsize

      • Steve Cherry said

        Hi:
        I would suggest checking with an art gallery.
        Try to contact customer service at : http://www.ha.com. This is Heritage Auction Gallery in Dallas, Tx. They have had alot of illustration art put on auction. You may need to send a scan or email a picture of it.
        You just don’t want to give up something that might be valuable without at least getting an idea of what it is.

      • John Baier said

        I recently purchased a Howard Connolly print of three sailing ships at sea, which may be a copy of the one Orrin was referring to several years ago. The ships almost appear to be racing as in the America’s Cup, but they have many more sails than what we see today for that type of yacht. I really would like to know something about the subject matter and the scene’s location as well as the time frame of when the original was painted. Mine is one of a limited edition of 100 copies from Watch Hill Gallery, hand signed by Howard Connolly with the notation #45/100.

        Any information on the original or the copy would be greatly appreciated.

  5. Lisa Briggs said

    Many of these are from his days in advertising and publishing, when he did book covers for various authors.
    Much of him early work was produced for the commercial advertising market. The work posted here looks like it is from that period.

    • Steve Cherry said

      Do you know the names of the advertising companies he worked for in the early years, and any of the advertisers?

  6. ric hyman said

    i just found a watercolor of a french nobleman in orange, france.

    it’s signed h connolly and dated 1930? looks like a illustration for book or magazine,
    can e-mail photo if you think you can help me idendify this work. thanks ric matt1038@aol.com

  7. Anthony Cocucci said

    I’ve got a Howard Connolly painting that is of three finches in a tree. I have no idea what its value may be. Have any of you been able to find an approximate?

  8. Joan said

    Does anyone know if howard painted “friends on the farm”? I just came across this, unsigned, and in the back it reads “1967. Howard Connolly.

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.